Posted on

Post the 16th, in which I, possibly very foolishly, accept a challenge

I’ve been thinking a lot today about character development in stories, probably due to yesterday’s post. I know that the creation of characters may be a rather dull topic, but I’ve had at least one thought that seemed worth sharing:

A character does not have to develop as your story progresses in order to be a well-developed character. When my mind first started down this road this seemed like a total oxymoron, but I think it will make sense if I use a well-known example: Snape. Few Harry Potter fans would disagree that Severus Snape is among the best-developed characters of the series, yet he doesn’t develop at all during the course of the story. Snape matures as a character before the story starts, and as this is revealed throughout the books/movies it makes you see his past actions in a new light. His character is developed retroactively. The same thing happens with Dumbledore. I don’t want to ruin things for anyone who hasn’t read/watched them, so I’ll leave it at that, but I found I kind of exciting. It’s like finally pinning down an idea that I’ve known all of my life with a name, cementing it within my understanding of the world so that I, too can use it.

This is my last post of 2012. That’s an interesting thought. I’ve only just gotten used to it being 2012, and in two hours (TN time) that will expire. What have I accomplished this year? Am I proud of how I’ve spent my time?

Yes, I think I am. I’ve worked as a paid freelance writer, graduated High School, survived my first semester of college, read tons of books, had great conversations, made over 40 new, good friends, and generally had the time of my life. 2012 has been the best year yet.

Can I make 2013 better? Challenge Accepted.

Today’s first sentence: I only realized how heavy the ball in Time’s Square must be as I watched it plummet towards me.

About Chris Waldon

I'm a college student studying Computer Science and Creative Writing. I work part-time as a LAMP stack web developer, and I play a ton of D&D.

One response to “Post the 16th, in which I, possibly very foolishly, accept a challenge

  1. Shauna ⋅

    Snape is probably my favorite character in the Harry Potter series. He’s so fun to hate in the beginning, then at the end you find out how fantastic he is.

Leave a comment